Things I have baked, plus a cloudfront

Last weekend I baked, as a reprise, the chocolate cake with cherry jam and brandy that I had also done the weekend before, dragged halfway across London and never got to eat.  It looked, once again, pretty dandy:

…and it tasted nice and all, but it wasn’t one of those life-changing cakes, if you know what I mean.  Turns out I wasn’t missing much.

This Friday I baked my most aesthetic loaf yet, white with a small amount of rye in the dough and sprinkled on top:

Looks convincing, doesn’t it?  Perhaps if we end up stuck indoors over a long cold winter I can sustain us with loaf after loaf, yeasty and wholesome.

Talking of cold winters, the weather has shifted today.  Early this morning as I was on my way to swimming there was a cloudfont advancing across the sky:

This evening it’s clear and the coldest so far this autumn, the kind of cold that makes you taste iron.

Celebrity sightings of the past 8 days: Sue Perkins and Liam Gallagher.

Leave a Reply

