Snow in London, December 2009

If I was feeling Christmassy at the weekend, today I’m on Yule overdrive.

Last night, captained by the wonderful Lyndsey, our team beat sixteen others to be crowned Afrikids Christmas quiz champions 2009.  My proudest moment was getting an answer right in a quickfire round.  It’s not often that you scream “Boy George” in a crowded pub and come out of it with a slightly improved social standing.

Today I am on leave.  This morning I bought some gifts, then wandered up to Hampstead.  It was starting to snow, just a little.  After a fortifying tea and chocolate square in Louis (which is looking festive – see below) I headed off to the Heath.

As I walked, the snow got heavier.  By the time I reached the top of Parliament Hill it gave a flurry.  There was not another soul in sight:

That was the hardest the snow got, but it continued falling very gently for the next hour or so.  I passed the ponds:

No-one was foolhardy enough to be in the water just then, so the seagulls had claimed the jetty:

Over in the north, by Kenwood House, there was just a dusting on some of the trees in the thicker parts of the wood:

On my way back home I stopped for a blueberry sorbet.  Ice within, ice without.

Next: tea.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Snow in London, December 2009”

  1. Afrikids Summer Quiz 2010 « Swimathonpete’s Weblog Says:

    […] on to the Tabernacle for the Afrikids summer quiz 2010.  You may remember we won this quiz just before Christmas.  This time our wonderful captain LJ was, much like Rio Ferdinand, out of action.  Without her we […]

Leave a Reply

